Bio Details


Michael S. Brown, M.D.

Dr. Brown has been a director of the company since 1991. He serves as the Distinguished Chair in Biomedical Sciences at the University of Texas (UT) Southwestern Medical Center, a position he has held since 1989. He is also a regental professor of molecular genetics and internal medicine and the director of the Erik Jonsson Center for Molecular Genetics at the UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas, positions he has held since 1985. Drs. Brown and Goldstein jointly received the Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine in 1985 and the U.S. National Medal of Science in 1988. Dr. Brown is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Medicine and the Royal Society of London.